Welcome To Athletics Wellington

Our Coaches

Name Area of Specialty Location Contact Details Note
Vladimir Arkhipov  Sprints DL3, Jumps DL3, Throws DL3  Wellington bospor@paradise.net.nz
04 977 4243
Murray Ashley  Kapiti murrayas@paradise.net.nz
04 902 2050
Doug Booth  Lower Hutt douglas.booth@tower.co.nz
Rees Buck   Distance DL3, 800m to Ultra Events including Track, Cross Country, Road, Trail Wellington, Porirua, Hutt Valley www.twitter.com/NZRun
027 2817582
Don Dalgliesh   IAAF Level 3 in Middle Distance, BBS (Massey) with a major in Sports Coaching, registered ANZ coach. Coaching available for age 10 upwards in for summer and winter. Wellington Area. Also available to work with athletes outside Wellington area by email. dondalgliesh@xtra.co.nz Coaching available for age 10 upwards in for summer and winter. Training sessions Monday and Wednesday Hutt Recreation Ground at 4.15pm, or Tuesdays and Thursdays Newtown Park at 4pm. Training for all levels from novices to elite athletes, working on quality rather than quantity, and ensuring that the athletes mix hard work with having fun.
04 473 9414
027 407 0988  
Autiko Daunakamakama  Sprints and Hurdles Johnsonville, Wellington adaunakamakama@gmail.com IAAF - Sprints and Hurdles Coach, Adelaide. Australia (1995). IAAF - Introduction to Coaches Theory (1991)
021 733738 International Athlete from 1987-2000. Olympian - 400m hurdles, Barcelona 1992. Over 20 years athletic coaching experience.
Ali Dennis  Middle and Distance Coach Level 2 Wellington, Hutt Valley www.fitnessgoals.co.nz Diploma Exercise Science,
027 2306214,
Michael Duthie  Wairarapa mwtlduthie@xtra.co.nz
06 379 9330
David Edwards  Paraparaumu david_edwards@paradise.net.nz
04 905 2212
Simon England   Lower Hutt simonengland@hotmail.com
Amanda Goldsmith  High jump, Long jump, Track Tawa, Johnsonville, Wellington coaching@olympicharriers.org.nz Trains Mondays to Thursdays at Grenada North Park in the summer and Tuesdays and Thursdays pre season training at Johnsonville in the winter.
021 614064,
Anne Hare  Sprints, Hurdles, Middle Distance & Race Walking Wellington cahare77@gmail.com NZ Qualified Coach
04 939 1488 Olympic Finalist
021 703 193 3 x Commonwealth Games
3 x World Cross Country
16 Ekiden Road Relays
Jonathan Harper  RJT CL2 currently registered coach with Athletics NZ Wellington jonathonharper101@gmail.com  Coaches cross country in the winter, middle distance track and LJ during summer. The squad is currently Years 5 to 8, but usually includes Years 9 and 10. The squad is for a small select group of runners who wish to prepare seriously for major competitions like Regional and Inter-Regional school and club championships, Colgate Games, Secndary School races and Trans Tasman Track and field. The philosophy is to stay with the same athletes long term, so next year (2019) the youngest will be Year 6. The coaching is comprehensive and thorough including: strengt and flexibility, maximal sprint speed, endurance, tactics, running efficiency and style, practical psychology, drills and tempo runs. Some experts are brought in every season.
04 479 1799
MARK HARRIS ATHLETICS NZ APPROVED COACH Wairarapa, Wellington www.maharris.co.nz Our desire is to have fun while creating an environment that allows you to learn, perform and be the best you can be in sport.
MATS Training – Sport Performance and Athletic Development GET SET GO Coach Mark 021 300 380 Our experience and knowledge is from years of competing and representing New Zealand.
RUN JUMP THROW Coach and Lecturer mark@maharris.co.nz
IAAF L3 Sprints and Hurdles, IAAF L1 Lecturer and Trainer Check out our website for more information about training times and costs.
SPORT WELLINGTON Coach Trainer
ATHLETICS NZ Distance, Sprints, Jumps, Throws Coach
Liam Healey  RJT CL2, Distance DL2, Level 1 sprints & relays, Core Athletics Level 1.  College age and up. From Sprinting to Distance. Upper Hutt, liamhe@xtra.co.nz Based in Upper Hutt, but Coach nationwide, specialising in Middle to long distance coaching for a number of years.
Wellington 04 527 9897 Sprint Training mainly 5.30 Tues. & Thur. @ Trentham Memorial Park over summer
027 343 7682
Geoff Henry   RJT CL3, Distance DL3, Sprints DL3, Jumps DL3, Ultra Distance DL3, AWD CL2, Primary and College Age Athletes Wellington ghenry@actrix.co.nz
04 388 3536
Angelo Hubert  Sprints DL2 Wellington angelo.mh@hotmail.com
04 388 6887
ANDREA HARRIS RUN JUMP THROW Coach and Lecturer Wairarapa, Wellington www.maharris.co.nz Our desire is to have fun while creating an environment that allows you to learn, perform and be the best you can be in sport.
MATS Training – Sport Performance and Athletic Development IAAF L2 Coach Andrea 027 421 1567 Our experience and knowledge is from years of competing and representing New Zealand.
ATHLETICS NZ Distance, Sprints, Jumps, Throws Coach andrea@maharris.co.nz
Check out our website for more information about training times and costs.
Peter Jack  Distance DL2, Sprints DL2, Jumps DL2 Wellington pajack@top.net.nz
04 388 6224
Michael Jacques  Middle Distance & Long Distance Wellington michael@mdj.co.nz
04 461 6461
0275 244 821
Callum Jones  Wellington reformationfitness@gmail.com
Kirsten Kilmister   Mana kirsten.stu@xtra.co.nz
Simon Keller  Wellington stkeller30@gmail.com
Alastair Leslie  Distance DL3, College Age Athletes Tawa, Porirua, Wellington shape8@xtra.co.nz Distance and middle distance. Will coach any athlete serious about their performance. Training groups contact me as venues and days change dependent on where athlete lives and time of year. Tawa, Porirua and Wellington area.
04 232 3285
David Lewis  Middle Distance and Distance. Wellington, Lower Hutt david.lewis@orcon.net.nz Qualification: IAAF CECS Level 2, ANZ DL2.
21333790 Registered Athletics New Zealand Coach. Age group: 12 and up.
Juan McDonald Tawa, Johnsonville coaching@olympicharriers.org.nz Trainings at Grenada North Park on Tuesdays (4.20pm) and Alex Moore Park (6pm) and Thursdays at Grenada North Park (4.20pm).
027 4376615 Saturdays at Olympic Harrier Clubrooms, Alex Moore Park, Johnsonville in the winter (1.45pm)
Tony McKone  Distance DL2 Hutt Valley tonesm@paradise.net.nz
04 973 0977
Vaile Mexted   vailemexted@hotmail.com
Peter Rendall   Wellington obnz@paradise.net.nz
Julie Richards   Middle Distance Wellington juliemaerdy@yahoo.co.uk IAAF level 2
021 2959026 RJT
Mike Ritchie  Coaching sprints, 100 to 400m, Hurdles, High Jump, Long Jump, Pole Vault, Heptathlon and Decathlon. mpritchie@xtra.co.nz NZ registered coach based in Wellington and training at Newtown track.
027 4809188
Marjolein Ros  Wellington marjolein@revolvecycling.co.nz
Mark Searle   Upper Hutt mark.sarah_searle@xtra.co.nz
Shaka Sola   shaka@paradise.net.nz
Sola Power Throwing Academy 021 331 317
Chris Speakman  Olympic Harriers chris.speakman@me.com Trainings Tuesdays Alex Moore Park 6pm
027 933 9843
Todd Stevens  Distance DL1 Wellington Todd.stevens@nz.pwc.com
021 781 238
Herman Steyn  800m to standard marathon. Upper Hutt, Lower Hutt, 04 460 3225 (business), Qualifications include international amateur athletic union middle and long distance
021 769 807 or 04 528 0955 (home) after hours and weekends.
Martin Stowers   Wellington martin.stowers@researchnz.com
04 387 4149
Vijay Mohan Sukhalal   V.J@xtra.co.nz
Wellington Marathon Clinic
Willy Szeto  RJT CL3, Sprints DL3, Jumps DL2, College Age Athletes Wellington willys2@outlook.co.nz Athletics NZ Accredited Coach.
021 762 913 REPs registered Personal Trainer  (NZ Register of Exercise Professionals)
William Taramai  Upper Hutt osmai@xtra.co.nz
04 528 3748
Alan Taylor   Mana grewe-taylor@slingshot.co.nz
Richard Thomson   Jumps DL1, Throws DL1, College Age to Senior International Athletes Whitby tn@aotea.school.nz I coach predominantly jumpers and sprinters. My group trains 6 days a week depending on training age.
277163067 I employ  an holistic approach, creating environments to drive adaptation. Programmes incorporate combinations of track, hills and gym work to optimize athleticism.
Jay Waters   Hutt Valley Harriers jay@jaywaters.net
022 473 3654
Jill Westenra  Hutt Valley wai@paradise.net.nz
Dave Wheeler  Lower Hutt wheeler.dave@xtra.co.nz
04 528 2165