Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Agency Group 10000m Festival

December 5, 2020

The Agency Group 10000m Festival

For Entries: HERE

For More Infomation: HERE

Live Results: HERE 

Saturday 5 December, Newtown Park, Wellington

The Agency Group 10000m is the most popular 10000m race in New Zealand. For the last two years, the Agency Group 10000m has been a night of PBs for runners of all speeds – 40 per cent of runners finished with a new best time. We even had a world record! This year there will be running packs and pacers of many different speeds to drag you to your new PB. Races are open to men and women of all age grades.

Schedule and pacers

  • 1:30pm 100m
  • 1:45pm 600m
  • 2:00pm 1000m
  • 2:20pm 200m
  • 2:45pm 10000m Race Walk

10,000m events follow

  • 4.45 pm – 10,000m B race, with a 1-hour pacer Peter Murmu, 50-minute pacer Danielle Trewoon, 46.30-minute pacer Gerard Gordon, 45-minute pacer Amanda Broughton and 40-minute pacers Paul Hewitson and Brad Wong.
  • 6.00 pm – 10,000m A race, with 38-minute pacer Paul Barwick, and 35-minute pacer Matthew Moloney.
  • 7.00 pm – 10,000m The Agency Group race, with 32-minute pacer Evan Cooper, 30-minute pacer Sam Tanner and 29-minute pacer Hayden Wilde.

Races are open to both men and women of all age grades. We expect the races to be mixed, so please indicate which race you want to run based on your goal time/pace. If you have any other time that you would like us to find a pacer for let us know – if there are several who all want the same or similar time we will try to support you with good pacing.

New Zealand Masters 10000m Championships

This year’s Agency Group is the NZ Masters 10000m Championships. If you are aged 35 or over on the day and are a competitive member of either an Athletics NZ Club or a NZ Masters Athletics Centre, you will automatically be entered into the championships. Results will be presented in five year age groups. The times from all three races will be collated into a single list to identify the placegetters for each age group. Your age on the day determines your age group.

Wellington 10000m Championships

This year’s Agency Group is the Athletics Wellington 10000m Championships. If you are a member of a club that belongs to Athletics Wellington, you will automatically be entered into the championships. The times from all three races will be collated into a single list to identify the placegetters for each grade.

Selection of The Agency Group 10000 metres field will be based on goal times.

Online entries close at midday on Wednesday 2 December.

Meeting rules

  • The meet is by pre-entry only. There will be no entries on the day.
  • All athletes must check-in and collect their race bib at the entry desk in the Newtown Park function room at least one hour before the scheduled start time of their allocated race.
  • Athletes are expected to make all reasonable endeavours to arrange their own lap scorer and to advise the name of their lap scorer at the time of check-in.
  • Athletes of affiliated clubs must compete in their club uniform.
  • Athletes must wear their allocated race bib during the race.

Health and Safety

  • Safety rules and guidelines for Newtown Park, including a Code of Conduct are published here.
  • All athletes must adhere to safety briefings and follow the instructions of the officials.
  • Only athletes and officials are permitted in the competition arena.  However, lap scorers will be specifically asked to enter the arena to undertake their task from the field side of the track.
  • Warm-ups: for general warm-ups, please use the area outside the stadium or the top field, rather than the competition arena.  However, in wet conditions, officials may approve warm-ups on the track.
  • Maximum spike length allowed: 6mm on track. Only cone, pyramid or xmas tree spikes are allowed, no needle spikes.

Starting procedure/ false starts

  • The starting rules to be applied will generally be based on the IAAF Competition Rules.
  • Each race will have a barrel start: two-thirds of starters will start on the normal waterfall start line and run in the inside lanes. The remaining third of runners will start on a separate waterfall line and run in lanes five to eight for the first bend before joining the rest of the runners on the inside lane for the backstretch of the first lap. This bend will be marked with cones for the first lap.
  • Any matters relating to the start will be at the absolute discretion of the Starter, Track Referee or delegated official. It will be his or her responsibility to ensure all competitors receive a fair start.


December 5, 2020